Home Page

St Oswald's CEPrimary School

Inspire Embrace Succeed

"...I have come in order that you might have life - life in all its fullness."

John 10v10

Google Translate
Google Search
Menu Close Menu

Framework 2021

Educational Programmes

Educational programmes, referred to by some people as the ‘early years curriculum’, are the areas of learning and development which shape the activities and experiences that children have in early years settings.

The early learning goals summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of the academic year in which they turn 5, the reception year.


The early learning goals have been changed slightly to make them clearer and more specific. The 7 areas of learning and development are:

  • communication and language
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • physical development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


The new 2021 curriculum has a deeper focus on early language and extending vocabulary are there have been some minor changes to the safeguarding and welfare section, including a new requirement to promote the good oral health of children.  This may include things like talking to children about the effects of eating too many sweet things, or the importance of brushing your teeth.


The Early Learning goals are not a curriculum.  They are the levels of development children are expected to have attained by the end of their reception year.